If it’s good enough for Marilyn…

If you thought Yardley was and old-fashioned brand, think again. I recently got their Lavender fragrance, which is totally irresistible.  It’s sweet and subtle as well as elegant and if you’re still not convinced, maybe  this will: In the forthcoming movie My Week with Marilyn, Michelle Williams quotes: ‘When I am in England let’s say I sleep in nothing but Yardley’s English Lavender”.

The scent comes in a classic bottle, which is neat and quintessentially British –

complete with its reassuring Royal Appointment stamp on the front. I’d say it’s ideal for all ages and light enough not to take over…so it’s great for daytime or evening wear.

While I am on the subject, I must confess that I am also very taken with their tinned soaps – in particular the one the April Violet. OMG, it takes me back to my childhood when we ate violet-flavoured sweets…
If you are thinking of getting a new fragrance, and you’re not sure what to go for give this a try. It’s fresh and simple, two elements that are always in a winning formula.

About the brand:

“Yardley London has been a purveyor of quality soap since the 17th century when the Yardley family paid King Charles I to grant them a concession to manufacture soap for London. All of our soaps are traditionally triple-milled, which means they’re processed three times over to reduce excess water, making the soap very hard but long lasting with a rich, creamy lather. The soaps are scented with our beautiful fragrances at the final stage of milling to enhance the longevity of their scent.’

For more information go to yardleylondon.co.uk


Leave a Reply

