The Sound of Music

Now, I know that most of the time I write about beauty in a traditional sense i.e. lotions and potions, but the undeniable fact is that – a cliche I know! – beauty really does come from the inside. Nutrition, general wellbeing, stress levels  and quality of sleep are all very important factors that will contribute to the overall energy which we give out, and the quality, dullness or brightness of our skin. So while this is not strictly speaking a beauty treatment in my book (well, in my blog!) it goes a long way towards that inner beauty we all ultimately strive towards, a place where we are at peace and live in harmony. I came across Lyz Copper through Radox. They invited me to take part in a sound therapy session and I was so impressed that I wanted to share it with the rest of the world.
As I lay on the matt in the studio I was asked to relax and close my eyes. The lights were dimmed and it was quiet. Then Lyz started to make sounds using crystal bowls, drums, bells and other instruments that sounded very magical and dream-like. Half an hour later – although it actually felt like 5 minutes later – we were gently brought back to a fully awakened state. I left feeling very peaceful and clear headed – not dissimilar to how I feel after an intense yoga class, which made me think about how we relate to sound on a day to day basis.
Sound therapy is used for a number of reasons and is becoming more and more mainstream. Lyz mentioned that some of her clients have overcome anxiety, insomnia, trauma and even pain using this therapy. It’s a wonderful way to connect with yourself at a deep level, so if you’re looking for a new angle to combat a demon or two give sound therapy a go.

For more information go to www.sacredsound.net

To find out how the track Weightless was made go to be-selfish.co.uk

Leave a Reply

